top of page

Midterm Election Results

The results are in!

The midterm elections have officially closed, and the results are in. Several runoffs will occur throughout the city, parish, district, and state in the next election held on December 10.

U.S. Senator John Kennedy
U.S. Senator John Kennedy

U.S. Senator John Kennedy won the re-election, gathering more than 60 percent of the vote. Gary Chambers followed behind him with 18 percent, with Luke Mixon in third with 13 percent of the vote.

Representatives Troy Carter
Representatives Troy Carter

Representatives Garrett Graves and Troy Carter also won their re-election. Representative Graves won the 6th Congressional District seat, winning 80 percent of the vote. Rufus Holt Craig Jr. received 13 percent, and Brian Belzer received seven percent. Representative Carter won 77 percent of the vote, with Dan Lux gathering 23 percent.

Representatives Garrett Graves
Representatives Garrett Graves

Congressman Steve Scalise won the seat as the U.S. Representative for the 1st Congressional District, winning 73 percent of the vote. Katie Darling gathered 25 percent, while Howard Kearney received two percent.

It was a close race for the seat of State Senate in District 17, but Caleb Seth Kleinpeter won the majority of the vote, with 51 percent of the vote. Jeremy LaCombe trailed behind him with 41 percent. Kirk Rousset received eight percent.

There will be a runoff election for the 1st Circuit Court of Appeal Judge between "Don" Johnson and Hunter Greene. Judge Johnson received 43 percent of the vote, while Judge Greene received 33 percent.

There will also be a runoff for PSC-District 3 with Lambert Boissiere III and Davante Lewis. Boissiere III received 43 percent votes, while Lewis received 18 percent.

For the East Baton Rouge Parish School System, there are a lot of runoffs and changes in seating for the board members.

There will be a runoff to split the vote for District 1 between Mark Bellue and Kimberly Bainguel.

Dadrius Lanus won his seat back for District 2 against Vereta Lee. He won 66 percent of the vote, while Lee gathered 34 percent.

Carla Powell won Tramelle Howard's previous seat for District 3, winning against Jamie Robinson and Bernadette Thomas with 59 percent of the vote.

There will be a runoff for Dawn Collins's previous seat between Shashonnie Steward, who received 47 percent of the vote, and Monique Wicks Robinson, who received 28 percent.

Evelyn Ware-Jackson lost her seat in District 5 to Cliff Lewis. Lewis received 54 percent of the vote, while Ware-Jackson received 46 percent.

Jill Dyason also lost her seat in District 6 to Nathan Rust. Rust received 57 percent, while Dyason received 43 percent.

There will be a runoff for Michael Gaudet to try and win his seat back in District 7. He will run against Cathy Carmichael. Connie Bernard will also have to win her seat back in District 8 again in her runoff. She will be up against Katie Kennison.

President David Tatman lost his seat and will not be in the runoff for District 9. Instead, it will be between Patrick Martin and Pamela Taylor Johnson.

Royce Duplessis will replace Karen Carter Peterson for State Senate District 5. He won the vote with 53 percent; Madie Landry trailed behind him with 47 percent.

Zachary will be heading to runoffs for their new mayor and police chief. David McDavid and Francis Nezianya will face off for mayor, while Darryl "Schuster" Lawerence, Sr. and Justin Nevels will be against one another for police chief.

Central has a new mayor and police chief. Wade Evans is Central's new mayor, and Roger Corcoran is the new police chief.

Theron Smith is receiving Cornell Dukes's position as mayor for New Roads.

White Castle's new mayor will be Florida Melancon, while their new police chief is Harold Brooks Jr.

The Town of Maringouin will face a runoff for mayor between Maurice Harris and Cherise D. Gougisha.

Out of the eight Constutional Amendments on the ballot, the state approved three: Amendment No. 2 expands property tax exemptions for homestead exemption property for veterans with disabilities. Amendment No. 4 is now authorizing a political subdivsion to waive charges for water under certain circumstances. Finally, amendment No. 8 removes the requirement of annual income certification for certain eligible disabled homeowners. The rejected amendments were: Amendment No. 1, which wanted to modify the maximum amount of monies in certain state funds that may be invested in equities. Amendment No. 3 wanted permission for civil service employees to support the election of family members into public office. Amendment No. 5 was a no to provide relative to property tax millage rate adjustments and maximum authorized millage rates. Amendment No. 6 was split 50/50 to limit the increased assessed value of the specific property following reappraisal in Orleans Parish. Finally, the controversial Amendment No. 7 rejected of prohibition of involuntary servitude and the administration of criminal justice.

It was voted with 56 percent of a renewal of the tax for Mosquito Abatement and Rodent Control. Also, a mill renewal for a property tax for West Baton Rouge in School District 3. The 15-millage property tax equals about $8.5 million a year for funding for ten parish schools.

47 views0 comments


bottom of page